"Beautifully proportioned and powerful" (The Washington Post)

Cypress Tweets

    follow us on Twitter

    Friday, September 03, 2010

    Cypress String Quartet coming to New York City in November 2010

    The San Francisco-based Cypress String Quartet performs for the first time in New York in three intimate concerts at the Tenri Cultural Institute: November 11,13 and 14.

    The Plain Dealer of Cleveland recently praised the Cypress, saying "In the forest of Beethoven recordings, the Cypress String Quartet's are some of the mightiest trees."  The Quartet brings music that exemplifies its artistic mission to New York -- pieces from the core repertoire for string quartet (by Beethoven, Dvorak, and Debussy), music overlooked by history (by Griffes, Stravinsky, and Schulhoff) and new pieces commissioned by the ensemble (by Pulitzer Prize-winner Jennifer Higdon, George Tsontakis, and Elena Ruehr). Buy tickets to the 3-concert series.

    The Cypress formed in 1996 and currently performs over 90 concerts each year. In addition to its busy touring schedule, the Cypress is releasing a series of recordings of Beethoven's Late Quartets. Volume 1 was released in 2009, and Gramophone praised the disc as "revealing artistry of uncommon insight and cohesion." Volume 2 was released in August 2010 and Volume 3 will follow in 2011. 

    Seating is limited to 80 audience members and all are invited to stay for a wine and cheese reception after each performance to meet and greet the Cypress String Quartet and the guest composers. ***Note that the starting time on Thursday, November 11, 2010, is 8:30pm.  The other concerts in this series begin at 8:00pm. 

    Thursday, November 11, 2010, 8:30pm: 
    Ervin Schulhoff: Five Pieces for String Quartet 
    Jennifer Higdon: Impressions (NYC Premiere) 
    Claude Debussy: String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10 

    To purchase single tickets for this concert, visit: 

    Saturday, November 13, 2010, 8:00pm: 
    Igor Stravinksy: Concertino for String Quartet 
    Elena Ruehr: String Quartet No. 3 (NYC Premiere) 
    Charles Tomlinson Griffes: Two Sketches based on Native American Themes 
    Antonin Dvorak: String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op. 96 'American' 

    To purchase single tickets for this concert, visit: 

    Sunday, November 14, 2010, 8:00pm: 
    Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135 
    George Tsontakis: String Quartet No. 5 'In Memoriam George Rochberg' (NYC Premiere) 
    Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130 (with Grosse Fuge) 

    To purchase single tickets for this concert, visit: 

    Wednesday, January 06, 2010

    Chamber Music Coaching Opportunity with the Cypress String Quartet

    As Montalvo Arts Center enters its third season featuring chamber music from the San Francisco-based Cypress String Quartet, we are pleased to provide a rare and limited opportunity to extend time with the quartet following their performance.

    On January 31, following the 3pm performance of Dvorak’s Quartet in G Major, Op. 106, four pre-formed ensembles will have the opportunity to join the Quartet for dinner in the historic Villa, followed by a two-hour coaching with members of the Quartet.

    For $150 dollars per person ($600 per quartet, $450 per trio), each member of the pre-formed ensemble will receive: tickets to the day’s performance, a pre-ordered dinner, and a two-hour coaching session with members of the Quartet.

    Reservations must be made as a group, through the Montalvo Box Office at 408.961.5858 by January 22 to ensure your place. Ensembles will be accepted on a first-come first-serve basis

    If you have questions, please contact:
    Daniel Cech,
    Manager of Administration and Education Cypress String Quartet

    See also:
    Cypress String Quartet: www.cypressquartet.com
    Buy tickets to the concert here.

    Cypress String Quartet Season Calendar